Quick, Easy, and Healthy Breakfast: Pesto and Ham breakfast sandwich!

Because of my addiction to food I am often trying to do portion control, counting calories, or some form of diet. This is something that threw together this morning for a quick and simple breakfast that tasted good and full of nutrients.

Image

Ingredients:

1 Thomas Light Multi-grain English Muffin

1 egg

3 slices of Hormel Natural Choice Ham

1 tablespoon Pesto

1 Light and Fit Dannon Greek yogurt

403 calories

 

Directions:

These directions are pretty simple.

Toast the english muffin.

For the egg you can cook it any way you like; fried, scrambled or how I do it is, I fry the egg and then when I flip it I smash the yoke out with the spatula until it is flat on the pan and not thick anywhere. This is because I don’t don’t like yokes, raw or hard. Why not scramble them then, you may ask. I don’t scramble because of time and scrambling eggs makes a bigger mess than frying an egg. I use non-stick cooking pans and sometimes spray the pans. I don’t use oil because of the extra calories but if you want to make it that much better, throw in some butter, bacon grease, or olive oil. 

While the egg cooks I put the table spoon of pesto on the muffin. Pesto is great because it is full of good fats and using it means I don’t have to put salt on the eggs. 

Finally put the egg and meat on there (I like to warm the meat up on the pan but its up to you). Enjoy with your favorite flavor of Greek yogurt or pack it up in a Tupperware to take to work. 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

